About Me

My photo
Baker. Cook. Gardener. Animal Lover.

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Signs O' The Season





I haven't left the house since Halloween Eve. And we needed food. So I got my sweater on...and headed out. And it's Christmas out there.
Went to Trader Jo's and got that cute rosemary topiary. The little ornaments on it I scored last year off ebay. And they are old. I just love them.I looked for something like that this year but so far, nothing. My friend at "Entertaing Mom" had the Thanksgiving Coffee from Starbucks this morning on her blog. So that was at the top of my list. I needed the cranberries and orange to make the cranberry bread tomorrow.And the kitty. He's just on there cause he is my big baby boy, Whiskey Sour.Isn't he cute? I think he is.

FOG



See that? Yep. Gray sky. The fog rolled in off of the Pacific last night. And just in the nick of time.These pictures were taken outside my upstairs bedroom window this morning about 7:30. So now I can stop complaining. And even though it's not raining...it's misty....misty enough to open the Martha Holiday Sweets magazine. And misty enough to play some Christmas music.

I'm in a good mood today. Going to go get the Thanksgiving coffee that's out at Starbucks. My friend from "Entertaining Mom" mentioned it on her blog.Going to go get cranberries to make some cranberry bread too. I got Red Plaid out and found Bessie's recipe. I think it is the same one that is on the back of the cranberry bag. I'll check and let you know.

So I am draining the wading pool. Putting the tank tops and flip flops back into the closet. Dumping the ice. Putting the sunscreen on the top shelf in the bathroom.Unplugged the fan last night and put in in the barn. (Buddy was glad to see it go.) And getting out the Kenny G. Christmas c.d. (Poor John, he no like-ee Kenny G. what guy does?)

So I'm back. Back to cooking and baking and building a fire. And really, it was just in the nick of time.Oh, and if you look really close in the last picture looking through my bedroom window. That is my neighbor on Church Street. That house is 104 years old. Isn't it adorable?

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Full November Moon

We watched the Full November Moon come up over Terrace Hill last night in our bathing suits.

Cooling Trend..It's only 86 Degrees Today



Well, thank god for the "cooling trend". It was a little cooler when we got up this morning...but by 10 a.m. ...there was no doubt about it...it was HOT again. Got the fan back on Buddy. What a trooper. Filled the wading pool with water. Shredding my closet looking for tank tops and shorts. Can't take anymore bbq..last night was a total bust. It just tasted..well,tired. So tonight I am going to make veal saltimbocca. I have the meat and prosciutto. I just don't feel like going to the store in the heat.

The pictures are to show you my attempt at decorating for Thanksgiving. I got it out the day after Halloween. All happy and hopeful. The paper turkey in the wooden bowl was my grandmothers. I've had it all these years after about a zillion moves. I can't believe it is in that good of shape. I can't believe I even have it.

I saw the Pepperidge Farms stuffing in Scolaris the other morning.I know, boxed stufing. Tried making my own, but it didn't go over very big. Frankly, I didn't like it much either.It just doesn't taste like the kind mom used to make. And I've learned...some things you just don't mess with. And the Thanksgiving stuffing is one of those things. I didn't buy it cause the weather just isn't right. Now I kind of wish I had. I like to look at it in the month of Novemeber...and dream about the BIG DAY.

And I am still looking at the Martha Christmas magazine...and waiting..I hope it rains before New Years.

Monday, November 2, 2009

I'm Dreaming

Along with the sack of ice and sunscreen..I got this. I'm not opening it till it rains.

We'll Be Reaching A High Of 89 Degrees Today



What did he just say? Did he say we will be reachig a high of 89 degrees.I think he did. Please NO. It is the second day of November out here on the Central Coast of California and I have the fan on. And I'm not happy about it either. It's Fall. We turned the clocks back Saturday night. I was at Scolaris this morning in my pajamas at five minutes past seven buying a sack of ice, a carton of neopolitan ice cream, hamburger ( hello..PETA) amercian cheese, corn on the cob and a can of beans. You see....we're sitting OUTSIDE bbqing tonight.

We are on Day 3 of the Heat Wave. And I give up. I am shifting back into summer mode. What else can I do? I'm tired of trying to pretend that we are in Fall. My pilgrim and turkey candles are literally melting in the sun. Had to move 'em out of the kitchen window. I made rolls last night to make some beef dip sandwhiches...from the leftover of that motherlode of a prime rib. When I bought it I didn't even look to see how many pounds it was. It was 7 pounds. SEVEN. That's ALOT O' BEEF...Even Buddy ....our toy poodle is starting to get burnt out on it. The first couple of days he loved it. Tried some more for his Birthday breakfast this morning. He turns 14 today. Nose turned up.Lips sealed shut. Head turned. Eyes rolled to the side.Nope. He's sick of it. I am thinking maybe tostados tomorrow night. With the leftover beef bonanza. But tonight we are BBQING...in the garden. That's what we're having. BBQed hamburgers on the rolls I made. Corn on the cob and a can of "Trail Camp" beans..... No stew. No pot roast. No soup. No stuffed and baked chicken. No pasta bake.No chili. ......BBQ

At least it will be dark.

Sunday, November 1, 2009

Look What I Got

Do you see it there?Lurking in the background. Yep, you're seeing right. That's a great big piece of prime rib. I couldn't help myself. And to think that one month ago I took the PETA Vegetarian 30 day challenge. When I got an email the other day congratulating me on making it for 30 days .....I felt like sinking into a hole. Congratulations. I have to admit I was a little ashamed of myself. I briefly considered staying on the challenge. Thought I could secretly sneek meat when I was alone. Maybe even make a break for a drive thru. The nice people at Mc Donalds don't know me. They don't care. A friend of mine actually gave me the idea. He's a vegetarian. And I admired him for his efforts.Kind of almost had him on a pedestal. Wow..a vegetarian. How cool.And then he dropped the bomb. He sneeks meat. Nobody knows. He lives alone...so who even cares. Says he orders pizza with pepperoni. Eats turkey at Thanksgiving, prime rib at Christmas and ham at Easter. But only when he is alone. Seemed like a good way to go...but honestly ....why would you do it? Does anybody even care? And it got me to thinking. Do all vegetarians sneek meat when nobodys looking. I bet they do.